The Hampton Social

I went to a place that has seemed to be widely revered in the Chicago restaurant scene called The Hampton Social.  Located on Hubbard and New Orleans, The Hampton Social is a fun spot that has a very beachy feel in the center of an urban city.

the-hampton-social

(via trip advisor)

If I focused on decor and ambiance alone, The Hampton Social blew me away. Walking into the restaurant I felt like I had gone back in time to my family vacations growing up. Maybe it was luck, but during my experience a live musician played amazing covers of all of my early 90’s favorites (I’m talking Drops of Jupiter and Hootie & The Blowfish, people!!).

2016-08-07_10-52-55

The oceanic vibes took my mind out of the city and into a state of relaxation that my anxious self doesn’t get to experience too often.

2016-08-07_11-01-21

I went with what I felt would be a safe dish because I was afraid to ruin my experience and chose the biscuits and gravy off of the brunch menu. I’m a sucker for a good cheddar biscuit, but I’m afraid to say that I was not a fan of the gravy. Very rarely do I run into an order of B&G that I don’t like but that’s exactly what happened here. On the other hand, my pineapple mimosa and side of fresh fruit was fabulous.

Whether it was a poor choice on my part or bad batch of biscuits and gravy, I was definitely not a fan. But that would not stop me from going back. The Hampton Social has a decent sized bar area that I am sure I will be hanging around in the future.

My suggestion to you- don’t let my experience steer you away from the place. Go to The Hampton Social for Happy Hour just to experience the atmosphere, because it makes it well worth it!

I give The Hampton Social 6/10.

 

Leave a Reply

