Bohemian House

On State and Illinois Street in downtown Chicago is a restaurant serving authentic Bohemian cuisine called Bohemian House (or BoHo).

IMG_0570.jpg

I’m going to be completely honest and say that I had no idea what type of food was served at BoHo when I made the reservation.  I made the reservation based solely off of the interior and didn’t really pay attention to what was served.  BoHo looked fun and different so I thought I’d give it a shot and I’m so glad that I did.  When I went back through my photos from that evening I felt that they really didn’t do it justice so I’ve attached some photos from their website below.

static1.squarespace.jpg

063915_001.jpg

(Above: photos via bohochicago.com)

Due to my lack of knowledge of the menu, my friends and I decided to each order an appetizer that was a little out of our comfort zone and split them between all of us.

Below is the smoked golden trout spread with pickled celery, trout roe (caviar) and butter crackers.  This spread was light but pretty sweet as well with the pickled celery on top.  I was nervous about this one and would say that it was probably my least favorite out of the four.

IMG_0560.jpg

Next, is my personal favorite the asparagus toast. Served on whole grain with goat cheese, honey and egg yolk, this dish was packed with so much flavor.  The combination of the goat cheese and the honey gave a sweet and savory taste that hit the spot.  I was tempted to order another toast at the end because I enjoyed it so much.

IMG_0561.jpg

Below is the beef cheek pierogi topped with roasted carrots, pickled onions and sour cream.  I absolutely loved this one. This was my first time having a pierogi and they were delicious!
IMG_0562.jpg
Last of the starters is the Hungarian lángos described as fried potato bread, chive sour cream, aged gouda and dill.  LOVED this dish.  This was probably my second favorite.  The potato bread added a little twist to what you would normally think of cheesy bread.
IMG_0564.jpg
Ranking them in order I would probably say:
  1. Asparagus Toast
  2. Hungarian Langos
  3. Beef Cheek Pierogi
  4. Smoke Golden Trout
For dessert, we had the dark chocolate custard with candied hazelnuts, salted caramel ice cream, butterscotch and cocoa tuile and the strawberry paczki described as a traditional Polish doughnut with whipped creme fraiche, almond streusel and lemon-poppyseed ice cream.  I am always a sucker for anything lemon-poppyseed so I adored the ice cream.  I’m not the biggest dark chocolate fan so if I had to choose between the two I would definitely say the paczki is the way to go!
IMG_0568.jpg
(Dark Chocolate Custard)
IMG_0567.jpg
(Strawberry Paczki)
I give Bohemian House a 10/10.  An accidentally adventurous meal turned out to be one of my favorite memories from my summer in the city.
Leave a Reply

