Rockit Bar and Grill

At 22 W Hubbard Street in River North is Rockit Bar and Grill.  Rockit has recently undergone a renovation that gives a sleek and stylish vibe with white granite bartop and all black interior.  Rockit is known for their wide variety of craft beers found on tap and their delicious bites.  With the new renovation came the development of the upstairs lounge perfect for the Chicago night scene.

rdm14.jpg

(photo via rockitbarandgrill.com)

One of Rockit’s infamous dishes is the “Rockit Pocket” which is a crispy wrap filled with meat, cheese and caramelized unions.  It’s like a fancy hot pocket, but 10 times more delicious.  Our waitress told us that a lot of people come in for the drinks and just get a few orders of the Rockit Pockets for their meal and I don’t blame them!

img_0410

I ordered the Black Angus Burger served with the standard fixings on a pretzel bun and added avocado.  If I would’ve known the size of the burger I would not have added anything to it.  I’m not exaggerating when I tell you the patty itself was two inches thick.  As tasty as it was, the size made it impossible to eat.  I’d like to give the benefit of the doubt and say that if I hadn’t added the avocado to it I would’ve been able to eat it like a normal human but I don’t think it would have made a difference.  Cutting the burger in half didn’t even make it easier.  I ended up having to cut it into pieces and eat it looking like a complete idiot.  Delicious? Yes.  Worth the trouble? I’m still deciding, but everything else I had was great.

IMG_0412.jpg

Rockit has a really fun craft cocktail menu as well.  I ordered the “Bad Reputation”  made with Belvedere Vodka, Plantation Pineapple, Cranberry, Giffard Peche, Lemon and Egg White.  They also added a nice little touch and put a vampire on the top!

img_0411

I can’t speak for the night scene upstairs, but dinner-wise Rockit Bar and Grill was amazing!

Rockit Bar and Grill: 9/10

Leave a Reply

