iPhotower Vietnamese-French Bistro

A quaint location in downtown KC, iPhotower Vietnamese-French Bistro was an eye-opening experience for me. IMG_8362

This blog has made me become much more adventurous in my eating.  This location is a prime example.  I would never have had the guts to try Vietnamese but felt that it would be a disservice if I was selective in my locations based off of fear.  Boy was I happy that I went! I had no idea the amount of influence French had on Vietnamese cuisine.  The name of the restaurant is a play on words (Eiffel Tower- iPhotower). I went with the house special version of the Bahn Mi sandwich.  Served on a French baguette and your choice of two meats (I believe I went with beef and pork), lettuce, pickled carrot, cilantro and (don’t miss this!) jalapeño… As in the biggest jalapeño I’ve ever seen and thank goodness I didn’t miss it and was able to take it out before I dove in since I don’t like them! IMG_8360 As the lunch special, I went with a bowl of Pho soup, with my half of the Bahn Mi.  Served with rice noodles, beef broth, and garnished with onion and cilantro it was so wonderfully flavorful.  You also have a choice of main ingredients here as well.  The list includes:

  • Steak
  • Brisket
  • Shrimp
  • Beef Meatballs
  • Chicken
  • Vegetarian

I believe I went with the combo on this as well (per my server’s suggestion) with brisket and meatballs. IMG_8361 Brought and placed on the table was a bowl of additional garnishes that you may want to add, including lime, bean sprouts and many others to cater to your specific preferences.  Also something to keep in mind is how filling this meal can be.  When I say I went home with a quart container of Pho I’m not exaggerating, because with the combination of the sandwich (mind you- it was only a half!) I couldn’t even attempt to finish it.  A full bowl of Pho might look like it would not be filling, but that is not the case.  Just a FYI! Another added surprise was Vietnamese iced coffee, Aka- HEAVEN.  I think I drank it in less than 10 minutes… that might even be generous.  Most definitely the most delicious iced coffee I have ever had.  I could just tell by its wonderful taste that there was nothing good for me about it, yet I had no care in the world.  YUM. IMG_8358

If my honest surprise at how much I enjoyed this meal wasn’t enough, the service would make me come back.  The most friendly and downright helpful service made me feel completely comfortable in a restaurant I had never been, eating food I had never tasted before.  That’s how good service should make you feel.  You really don’t get that too often.

I would give iPhotower a 10/10.

Leave a Reply

