Joe’s Kansas City Bar-B-Que

Okay, the time has come. Today is my first Kansas City based post and I am pumped to share. As a culture with so many historically revered barbeque locations I felt it was only fitting to start with one. My goal is to evaluate the prominent KC barbeque locations by August, before I return to school so that I can give you a definitive list of my own personal experiences and rankings.

IMG_8163

Joe’s Kansas City Bar-B-Que, formerly known as Oklahoma Joe’s, is where I am going to start. With the original location inside a gas station on the corner of 47th and Mission, Joe’s KC proves that some of the best food doesn’t directly reflect where it is located. Joe’s KC and Oklahoma Joe’s are seen as a cohesive establishment today, but originally this was not the case. The owners of Joe’s KC, Jeff and Joy, got into the business of barbeque by entering (and winning) contests in the Kansas City area. A man originally owned Oklahoma Joe’s named Joe Don Davidson and started the business in Stillwater, Oklahoma (go figure). Jeff and Joy bought Davidson’s share of the business, closed the Oklahoma location and that is when they integrated it into the original location within the gas station. It wasn’t until 2014 that the business’s name was officially changed to Joe’s Kansas City Bar-B-Que.

As a KCMO native, I was less familiar with Joe’s KC due to its location nearer to the Kansas side. When I went to Joe’s KC I decided to go with the beef brisket sandwich and fries. With the addition of the barbeque sauce provided on every table (I went with the original) the level of spice, which was not much at all, was perfect for me.

IMG_8165

One of their most popular items, the Z-man, has been named the Best Sandwich in Kansas by Zagat as well as being recognized as the #1-rated barbeque every year since 2004.  Here it’s pictured with a side of their delicious onion rings.

IMG_8166

Another great aspect of Joe’s KC is their beer selection. They provide an array of craft beers, many from the locally revered Boulevard Brewery. It goes to show you their commitment to emphasize and support the successes of other local companies.

IMG_8164

I’d give Joe’s KC a 8 on a scale of 1-10.

Leave a Reply

