Billy Goat Tavern and Grill

CHEEZBORGER!

CHEEZBORGER!

CHEEZBORGER!

IMG_8155

There are not many places that pack as much history into their business as Billy Goat’s.  The infamous underground location, Saturday Night Live skit, and historic tales such as the Billy Goat Curse and how the restaurant got it’s name are just a few contributors to the establishment’s history.

Owner, William “Billy Goat” Sianis, received his nickname from the early years of his ownership (back when it was called the Lincoln Tavern) when a goat had fallen off of a passing truck and wandered inside.  Later, Sianis adopted the goat and changed it to the name that is associated with the fame, Billy Goat Tavern.

While Billy Goat’s is considered a Chicago staple, I hate to admit that I was a little underwhelmed.  The burger was fine, but nothing special.  The atmosphere and the history of the place are the only reason I left with any positive thoughts.

IMG_8153

If I had to rank it based on food, I would probably give Billy Goat Tavern a 6… And I feel like that’s generous, but I wouldn’t advise you not to go.  Maybe my expectations were too high from all of the hype that it receives, but I would still say that it holds significance in Chicago culture.

Even though I wasn’t super impressed with it, many would care to disagree with me… My little brother being one of them, for instance. (Pictured below mid-bite)

IMG_8159

Leave a Reply

